What the Heck is a Hyperbole?

When I saw that today’s word of the day was hyperbole, I must confess that I did not even know what it meant and had to look up the definition. For those of you who are also going to be honest and do not know what it means, here is the definition.

Hyperbole is an exaggeration which may be used for emphasis and humor. A hyperbole is used in speaking and writing for effect or to make a boring thought or story more interesting.

Since now I know what hyperbole means I realize that I use them frequently in my daily speech. I speak a lot and tend to overly emphasize and exaggerate what I am speaking about. I sometimes try to be funny and that also seems to cause me to throw in many hyperboles without even realizing it. Plus, I think when you talk as much as I do those hyperboles just happen to get thrown into my dialogue as overuse of adding extra words when not even necessary to get my point across. I still cannot pronounce the word hyperbole correctly. I must practice that.

When I write about Bipolar Disorder I think I use hyperboles often as I try to be very descriptive in my explanations of what it feels like living with my symptoms of Bipolar Disorder. Plus, I use many descriptive words in describing my life and definitions of Bipolar Disorder terms in hopes of educating my readers as much as possible.

Examples I have used to describe my Hypomania and Mania:

  1. I am running a marathon as I am sitting down.
  2. I am the energizer bunny. I keep going and going.
  3. I have electrical currents running throughout my body from the top of my head to the tips of my toenails.
  4. My racing thoughts change faster than a speeding bullet.
  5. My mind is a puzzle that cannot be solved.
  6. I never stop talking.

Examples I have used to describe my Bipolar Depression:

  1. My brain has died.
  2. I have died.
  3. I am the walking dead.
  4. I am buried in a deep dark grave.
  5. The weight of dirt and debris have completely covered me making me immobilized and incapable of any movement.
  6. I am numb and cannot move.
  7. It is impossible to take a shower as there are way too many steps involved.
  8. I am a prisoner in my own head and I cannot get out.

Unfortunately, there are many negative labels, words and phrases that have been used to stigmatize people that have a Mental Illness. These labels have been said and used for many years and are sadly still being said today by some people.

  1. She lost her mind.
  2. He is nuts.
  3. nutty as a fruitcake
  4. has a few screws loose
  5. not playing with a full deck
  6. He is a few sandwiches short of a picnic basket.
  7. She is a few slices short of a loaf.
  8. not the sharpest knife in the drawer
  9. not the sharpest tool in the shed
  10. She lost her mind.
  11. Crazy Aunt Lilly went into the Loony Bin and never got out. (Sadly this has been said by many of my family members about my Great Aunt Lilly).

On a lighter note here are some examples of other hyperboles I have used when I speak:

  1. I have a told you a million times.
  2. I am starving to death.
  3. I am full as a bull.
  4. It will only take me a couple of seconds to finish writing (hahaha… oops it didn’t).
  5. This is the absolute worst ever.
  6. I have gotten so fat that I have turned into a round ball.
  7. I am so short and round that you could put three holes in me and use me as a bowling ball.

I know it is not nice to say these things, but I have said number 6 and 7 about myself. Like I mentioned before I like to try to be funny and I really want to get my point across. This is how I am feeling about my weight right now because I have gained some extra weight recently. Plus, I do not and never have had a good self image about myself, especially my weight. Even when I was thin, I had a poor self image about myself which of course is related to my past. I know it is wrong, but you have to admit number 7 is funny.

I still cannot pronounce the word hyperbole correctly. I must practice that. I don’t think I could pronounce it correctly to save my life.

I sure hope I have used a hyperboles correctly throughout my post.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/hyperbole/

Leave a comment